Beginning a livecoding/algorave community in an area with none currently in place

Hello all! I have some questions regarding starting a live coding community in an area that currently lacks one. I am a 15 year old programmer who loves to make music. I discovered live coding and Tidal about a year ago, and I’ve been obsessed with it ever since. My only problem is that I live in the Washington D.C. area, where there seems to be little to no livecoding community, and even if there were, I am far enough from D.C. that being regularly involved in any communities there would be quite difficult. I would love to start a livecoding community where I live, but I have no idea how I could go about doing this. Do any of you have any advice?

3 Likes

Hey Rythmos. Pretty obviously is that you’ll need some folks interested in livecoding. But first you might want to cast your net wide by seeking out computer musicians in the broader DC area that are working with more codey/open-ended music-making platforms (e.g. Max/MSP, PureData, SuperCollider, Reaktor…) …I know that in Baltimore MICA has a sound-art focus where they teach students these more open-ended platforms and I’m sure there’s a community built around those. Probably some people livecoding as well.

It takes a while to build up a community so start small. Introduce these folks to Tidal, which is a great & fun introduction to livecoding performance. Organize a meet-up. And once you have enough people try to organize a concert.