Concatenation of TimeVars

Hello everyone!

I’m pretty new to FoxDot and live coding in general, so to practice a little bit I tried to reproduce the melody of the song “Children” of Robert Miles using TimeVars. After some time of playing around I obtained this:

Clock.bpm = 136
Scale.default = "minor"
Scale.key = "f"

pat1 = [0,2,1,-1,2,1,-3,2,1,-5]
dur1 = [6,1,.5,6.5,1,.5,6.5,1,.5,8.5]

p1 >> piano(var(pat1, dur1), dur=dur1, oct=6)

Then, I realized the pattern [2,1,X] is repeated, so I checked this:

p2 >> piano(var([2,1,[-1,-3,-5]], [1,.5,[6.5,6.5,8.5]]), dur=[1,.5,[6.5,6.5,8.5]], oct=6)

So far so good. The problem comes when I try to add the “0” at the start of the sequence. All the things that I tried ended with the TimeVar var([0,2,1,[-1,-3,-5]], [6,1,.5,[6.5,6.5,8.5]]), which does not yield the same pattern as var(pat1, dur1).

My question is the following: is there any way to concatenate TimeVars in a similar way as we can concatenate patterns? For example, var(0,6) | var([2,1,[-1,-3,-5]], [1,.5,[6.5,6.5,8.5]]) == var([0,2,1,-1,2,1,-3,2,1,-5], [6,1,.5,6.5,1,.5,6.5,1,.5,8.5]).

To try to solve this problem I implemented this custom function, but maybe there is an easier way to do that:

import functools

def flatten(pat, dur):
    pat_flat = functools.reduce(lambda a, b: list(a) + list(b), pat)
    dur_flat = functools.reduce(lambda a, b: list(a) + list(b), dur)
    return pat_flat, dur_flat

pat2_raw, dur2_raw = [P[0],P[2,1,[-1,-3,-5]]], [P[6],P[1,.5,[6.5,6.5,8.5]]]
pat2, dur2 = flatten(pat, dur)

p3 >> piano(var(pat2, dur2), dur=dur2, oct=6)

Thank you for your help and sorry if the question is too basic, keep rocking!

Edward

I have been thinking about this for a while and the main issue is what to do about nested values, such as those you have in your code. Should the var with nested values go through all of its nested values or should they be laced over the new, concatenated var? E.g.

var([0, 1]) | var([2, [3, 4]])