Distributed performances because of this f***** virus

Hi gang. We’re going to have to move to streaming for upcoming performances. I’m wondering if anyone had good tips for remote mixing of audio-visual streams. I was thinking OBS but not sure how to organise mixing acts.

Also - random question but what’s this forum software called?

Thanks!
Evan

Hey Evan, all

Ditto on our side. We're cancelling the public

gathering for Eulerroom and doing independent streams. We’ve
also got a live coding concert on March 28th that we need to
find an alternative solution for… we were thinking of maybe
turning it into some kind of radio show.

I have no experience with this either, just used

OBS in the past for Eulerroom-like performances…

xx

Hi @EvanR
I’m wondering whether jit.si would have good enough sound quality for this. It allows screensharing. Internally routing audio to the right places is always an issue though !
Using broadcast tech like obs will be tricky due to the high latency, but I know there are some options for reducing that.

Every livestreamer could start an Unlisted stream on Youtube, and in OBS import the link as a browser source. Not sure if this is the best method, but I tried it yesterday together with @KessonDalef to have a livestreamed performance together remotely (me performing audio, him performing visuals on my sound), the only reason we didn’t go forward with it was that the computer he had available and the wifi connection wasn’t good enough to have a stable stream and quality.

Not sure how this will work out with multiple streamers though.

jitsi looked promising but we’ve tried to use it with teaching and its been overwhelmed recently. Also, we installed our own server but sometimes its a bit unpredictable and we haven’t been able to figure out why. (Today I couldn’t join using Chrome after having just joined). It’s pretty promising, maybe someone can figure out what the issues are.