Live Coders and more "old-fashioned" Instruments

Inspired by a post in another thread and my own history as a musician, I was wondering what the relationship between the live coders and more “old-fashioned” Instruments is. I know there’s many coders who play in bands or as solo instrumentalists as well, and some even do mixed sets.

Did you play an instrument before you became a live coder? Do you come from a technical background? Did you maybe even start playing an instrument later on, because live coding inspired you to make music?

If you played an Instrument before, how did that experience shape your coding ?

Personally, i played music in bands, projects, even orchestras (without being able to read sheet music … go figure) for more than a decade before coming into contact with live coding (even though i on some occasions did perform as a laptop musician before with PD or DAWs).

Some of the key motivations to go into computer music were probably born out of frustration with bands. Your computer doesn’t go AWOL for band practice, and your programs don’t threaten to punch each other. So while I recently figured out that collaborating with other coders can be fun, the fact that I can do it on my own was one of the key selling points.

I’d say it shaped my general sense for musical dynamics. I alos learned that making music for me is much more about dynamics and/or rhythm as opposed to, say, harmonic progressions.

Nowadays i miss playing the drums, but not enough to get a new drumkit (yet).

How about you?

1 Like

Interesting topic!

I’m a traditionally very analog instrumentalist: woodwind/guitar/keys/bass guitar (bass being my primary focus for the last ~decade).
I got into live coding incidentally through musical networks on twitter, and as a tertiary qualified programmer it immediately appealed to me as an instrument that I perhaps didn’t need to struggle through the journey with as much as I find I do with an analog instrument.