Questions about PChain

Howdy,

I’m quite new to live coding (and coding in general), but I’m finding FoxDot to be incredibly intuitive.

As far as improvising goes, PChain seems very useful. I’d like to use it to string together a handful of different refrains that I can either play over, or have a player improvise behind me.

I can’t find much in the way of documentation outside the Pattern Generators intro doc, and I’m having trouble getting PChain to work with any sense of predictability. I also can’t seem to do much without consistently getting KeyErrors.

Would anyone be able to provide a bit more comprehensive explanation with some examples? I understand this question is a bit broad, but a general overview might help set me down the right path.

Thanks!

There’s a brief bit of info here: https://foxdot.org/docs/pattern-generators/ but I’m happy to explain in more detail. PChain is a very simple markov chain, which basically means that when the PChain holds a certain value, x, the next value in the sequence will be one of the values that x points to. The dictionary input for PChain are x values and the values that they point to. Take this for example:

PChain({0: 1, 1: [0, 2], 2: 0})

When it holds the value of 0 the next value will always be 1 because 0 points to 1 in the dictionary. When it holds the value of 1, there is a 50% chance that the next value in the sequence will be a 0 or 2 because 1 points to [0, 2]. When it holds the value of 2 then the next value will always be 0. Because each value points to another value in the dictionary, the loop continues forever.

The following PChain will throw a KeyError:

PChain({0: 1, 1: 2})

When it holds the value of 1, it points to 2, which isn’t in the dictionary so can’t go anywhere else after that. I can’t remember if the player stops making sound when this happens? Perhaps it needs to just print a warning and continue playing the sound event?

Hope that makes sense!

That’s super helpful, thank you!