Trouble setting up Tidal – stack install

Hi there !
I am very new to Tidal and Haskell in general, and I am having trouble installing Tidal for the first time (MacOS 10.9).

I tried installing tidal the bootstrap way, which failed installing cabal. I always got "Failed to create temporary directory" when trying ghcup cabal-install.
So I then tried to install tidal with stack. It seemed to work normally, I changed the GHCI path in the Atom plugin to : stack exec ghci -- as discussed here. But Tidal won’t boot.
I tried troubleshooting but import Sound.Tidal.Context gives me the following error : Could not find module ‘Sound.Tidal.Context’.
Furthermore, tidal is not listed in stack exec ghc-pkg list. I checked the detail of that list, and the list doesn’t include the snapshot where stack installed tidal.

Any advice on how to solve this ? Thank you !

Hi @WQT, that’s a shame that the bootstrap didn’t work. Could you share the full error log of running cabal v2-install tidal --lib please? I haven’t seen this error before.

There have been changes to the atom plugin recently that could be the issue with running stack. I’ll look into this.

1 Like

Sorry, I meant cabal v2-install tidal --lib
(edited previous message now)
You might need to run this sequence of commands:

. "$HOME/.ghcup/env"
cabal v2-update
cabal v2-install tidal --lib
1 Like

Thank you so much for looking into this !
My problem is I can’t even install cabal. So cabal v1-install tidal --lib gives me
-bash: cabal: command not found.
When I tried to install cabal with ghcup it kept failing with this error :

...~myusername$ ghcup install-cabal
Installing cabal-install-3.0.0.0 into "/Users/myusername/.ghcup/bin"
usage: mktemp [-d] [-q] [-t prefix] [-u] template ...
mktemp [-d] [-q] [-u] -t prefix
Failed to create temporary directory

That is why I tried to install tidal with stack instead.

Hmm, ghcup should come with cabal. I updated my previous comment, did you try with those three commands?

1 Like