Upgrades of FoxDot

hey there!

I was on FoxDot in 2018 and I’ve also joined a telegram group about FoxDot recently.

My setup wasn’t updated until now because I stopped using FoxDot in 2019. I’d like to slowly back to it.

On telegram, there they were speaking about a FoxDot unofficial upgrade that has an extended selection of SynthDefs, etc, and found on github.

How may I install this?

Hi. I’m looking to do the same. I’m really new to the tech side of all of this so maybe we can help each other?

I am thinking of installing this version: PitchGlitch / FoxDot_PitchGlitch · GitLab

It seems to be an expansion on this: CrashServer/FoxDot: Python driven environment for Live Coding (github.com)

But I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to just duplicate everything because I don’t really understand python or git very well so I’m doing some reading.

Feel free to let me know how you upgrade and whether you use one of these.

hi!

I finally got it to work!

The tutorial of “how to install” on the pitchglitch version is not clear on that, but you will want to remove any prior FoxDot install. This is not something you can update or upgrade with python/pip, so the old FoxDot will just sit there while you don’t play with it anymore.

Got it? Now you can git clone the pitchglitch wherever you want, place your command in this folder, and execute install.py with python. Normally, you’d need to associate a PATH to run it from any folder your cmd is. But I don’t know that, so I did it differently.

If you follow the supercollider install instructions in pitchglitch or the original FoxDot on Qirky’s github, you should be fine.

Now, how to start the pitchglitch? One more thing to do compared to Qirky’s FoxDot.

You have to install an extra python package called playsound, if it is not there, python will return an error upon opening FoxDot.

Something along the lines of pip3 install playsound.

When you do execute pitchglitch, the code is python -m FoxDot.