Live coding IDEs?

Can live coders interact with IDEs (Integrated/Intelligent DE) to play music? The proposed system provides interaction with your editor to generate short snippets of code that are often referred to as “musical simples”.
example code snippets: create an instrument, progression, beat, transition, automation or any other specific idea.
Musical simples are pieces of music
that can stand on its own,
and that makes a satisfying loop.
they should be catchy, attractive, and (ideally) already familiar.
should be between one and four measures long.
More at: http://www.ethanhein.com/wp/2015/musical-simples/

Background: I’m a novice live coder (~3 months into it now, never played a live coding show) and music technology student. Collaborative live coding has been by far the most inspiring prospect in live coding for me. I currently use a slightly hacked version of Troop as my collaborative IDE.

IDE: The only change I’ve made to this IDE is adding a text binding (Cmd+T/Ctrl+T) to “interact” with the system in natural English language by executing text comments. In return the system returns a snippet of code (saved by me) that I can quickly execute. My in progress version of Troop : https://github.com/sandcobainer/Troop. I initially came up with this setup to simplify live coding for myself, avoid errors and to be able to execute ideas without looking at the documentation constantly. For example, in FoxDot, a python interface for SuperCollider, interacting (Cmd+T) the following comment would give me a snippet of code that I can quickly edit and execute.
//play pluck p1 > pluck([0, 2, 3, 5, 7], dur=[1/2, 1/4, 1/2, 1/8, 1/8]).every(3, "shuffle")